Current News and Press Releases

North Wales Police Entrusts Hexagon Safety & Infrastructure and Frequentis with Joint Communications Centre Systems Upgrade

Integrated solution provides next-generation unified communications, contact management, incident management and dispatch

North Wales Police, Copyright: Hexagon

Swindon, UK, 22 November 2016 – North Wales Police, a customer of Hexagon Safety & Infrastructure and Frequentis for more than a decade, have contracted with Hexagon to upgrade the existing Frequentis 3020 Integrated Communication Control System (ICCS) to the Frequentis 3020 LifeX software platform and provide associated integration to Hexagon’s Intergraph® Computer-Aided Dispatch (I/CAD) incident management and dispatch system.

The upgrade provides North Wales Police with a single platform for both emergency and non-emergency forms of contact centre and control room communications including radio, telephony, email and web chat. The solution enables configurable skills-based routing of communications, provides more information on both people and properties at the point of contact through integration with other police systems and delivers automated management information reporting.

The integrated solution facilitates infrastructure consolidation through the use of a single workstation per operator position and commercial-off-the-shelf (COTS) hardware and virtualisation in the data centre. The 3020 LifeX software platform will also support the transition to the Emergency Services Network (ESN) for North Wales Police in the coming years.

Paul Shea, North Wales Police Control Room Manager, said, “The commitment from Hexagon and Frequentis to work with us to not only enhance our communications with the public through all media channels, but also to support us to be ready for the transition to ESN is just what we need to allow us to concentrate on policing.
We have worked with Hexagon and Frequentis for a long time and understand their knowledge and experience in control rooms and critical communications. This, coupled with the 3020 LifeX solution, were the reasons why we decided to implement the new ICCS and contact centre upgrade with them”.

Maximilian Weber, Senior Vice President EMEA at Hexagon Safety & Infrastructure, commented, “Together with Frequentis we are proud to be delivering an upgrade for North Wales Police that will truly help them with public contact and officer dispatching in the future. Not only will it bring efficiencies within the police control room but also give the public of North Wales a better service”.

Robert Nitsch, Director Public Safety at Frequentis, explained, “We are honoured to be entrusted by North Wales Police to install our first multimedia contact centre in the UK as well as a solution capable of transition to ESN. By using 3020 LifeX and Hexagon’s I/CAD properly integrated, we are combining our understanding of the market needs with experiences gathered in existing contact centre solutions for the benefit of North Wales Police so they can increase efficiencies to meet their targets”.

The global leader in public safety and security solutions, Hexagon Safety & Infrastructure helps protect 1 in 12 people worldwide. By improving the quality, accuracy and availability of critical information, Hexagon’s integrated solutions increase public safety and security performance and productivity, while reducing the total cost of ownership for mission-critical IT investments.

Select Country
Afghanistan Åland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo-Brazzaville Cook Islands Costa Rica Côte d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroes Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Honduras Hong Kong SAR of China Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao SAR of China Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Korea Northern Marianas Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino São Tomé e Príncipe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Serbia and Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Korea South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The Bahamas Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States of America United States Minor Outlying Islands Uruguay US Virgin Islands Uzbekistan Vanuatu Vatican City Venezuela Vietnam Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe