Current News and Press Releases

Department of Health selects FREQUENTIS control room software

Cloud-based infrastructure from Frequentis will assist the UK Ambulance Trust with its evolution to an Emergency Service Network (ESN)


The Department of Health has selected the Frequentis 3020 LifeX integration platform as a replacement for the current Integrated Command and Control System (ICCS). The Control Room Software (CRS) project required a new approach to the provision of radio dispatch for the UK Ambulance Trust using a cloud-based model. The system will enable the Trust to be ready to transition to the United Kingdom’s Emergency Services Network (ESN).

The 3020 LifeX, designed as multi-media collaboration platform, will be hosted at Crown Hosting Data Centres to provide a highly resilient national solution for all of the English Ambulance Trust control room operators and with an option for Scotland and Wales too.  With a capacity for almost 700 concurrent users, the system will be the largest ICCS in the UK. The system will not only allow the control centre staff to communicate with the ambulances on the current Airwave network, but also the new ESN once it is operational. It will also provide a map-based view of the location of all ambulances, to compliment current systems and provide another layer of resilience for the most critical of services.

This new approach to the provision of critical services for an Emergency Services’ control centre allows for flexibility and innovation to meet any future requirements and the enhancement of operational processes and procedures. Even though the system is national and can be enhanced on this basis, Frequentis understands the need for individual Trusts’ to operate in their own way and will therefore ensure local requirements are also catered for.

“We are extremely pleased to be working with Frequentis to deliver the LifeX software. Delivering the largest ICCS in UK will be a challenge, however we are confident that Frequentis are the right provider to enable us to deliver a solution that will greatly assist the Ambulance Trusts’ dispatch capabilities. Realising the benefits of the new Emergency Services Network (ESN) is vital and the flexibility inherent with LifeX will enable Trusts to transition to ESN whilst maintaining inter-operable communications with other Trusts, Police and Fire” – Duncan Bray, Head of Programmes – Ambulance Radio Programme

With the introduction of ESN over the coming years, ambulance dispatching and the communications with staff will change and the potential use of multimedia will evolve.  Having a “single” system will enable the evolvement to be managed and implemented in a more cost effective and efficient way.
Frequentis’ expertise in providing safety-critical communication and information solutions is well-known in the industry. In February 2016, Frequentis won the International Critical Communications Awards (ICCA) in the category “Best use of TETRA for Public Safety” for its best practice voice communication system implemented for the Bavarian Police during the 2015 G7 Summit in June. Furthermore, at the 2016 Critical Communications World, Frequentis won the “Future Tech Award” for its Unified Radio Gateway (URG) solution.

"The Frequentis 3020 LifeX software platform was designed for the approach required by the UK Ambulance Trusts. The “private cloud” infrastructure, intuitive web-based frontend and ability to integrate numerous third party systems means a single national solution can meet the specific needs of the individual Trusts. This brings the benefits of scale without compromising the individual’s needs.” Says Robert Nitsch, Public Safety Director at Frequentis

Select Country
Afghanistan Åland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo-Brazzaville Cook Islands Costa Rica Côte d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroes Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Honduras Hong Kong SAR of China Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao SAR of China Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Korea Northern Marianas Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino São Tomé e Príncipe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Serbia and Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Korea South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The Bahamas Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States of America United States Minor Outlying Islands Uruguay US Virgin Islands Uzbekistan Vanuatu Vatican City Venezuela Vietnam Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe