Current News and Press Releases

FREQUENTIS wins International Critical Communications Awards 2016

“Best use of TETRA for Public Safety” with the Bavarian Police
ICCA 2016

On 26 February 2016 the International Critical Communications Awards (ICCA) 2016 took place at the Honourable Artillery Company in London. Frequentis won the top award in the category “Best use of TETRA for Public Safety” for its best practice voice communication system implemented at the Bavarian Police during the 2015 G7 Summit in June. The International Critical Communications Awards focus on excellence in the critical communications world.

The International Critical Communications Awards, previously named TETRA Awards, are focusing attention on excellence in the public safety sector. Criteria’s for winning in the category “Best use of TETRA for Public Safety” were providing evidence of safeguards being in place for data security, full adoption of TETRA capabilities across a range of platforms, scalability, interoperability and efficient use of bandwidth and reliability. Key performance indicators also included showing how TETRA systems have improved response times, reduced areas of no coverage, and improved staff safety.

“We are very proud of winning this award together with our customer, the Bavarian Police. Frequentis acted as the communication hub and we are pleased to have supported the Bavarian Police during this large-scale event, applying our expertise from other events like the Olympic Games in London 2012”, said Robert Nitsch, Director Public Safety at Frequentis.

To fulfil the needs of the Bavarian Police, Frequentis provided the voice communication solution including TETRA digital radio, to direct up to 18,000 relief units. The solution merged the operation of the analogue radio and digital radio wired connections that were utilised for the first time in the Federal State of Bavaria. Different channels of communication were controlled via a central joint, operator-friendly user interface. The entire emergency services personnel were enabled to use the voice and data services of the German tap-proof BOS digital radio. In total, about 280 operator positions in Rosenheim, Munich and Garmisch-Partenkirchen were equipped. Even the transnational communication across the Austrian border was supported.

“In the time from 28 May to 7 June over 30,000 different mobiles were registered in the G7 operation area. This was a new European record and outpaces the amount of the Olympic Games in London 2012. The voice communication system of Frequentis handled in peak times more than 70,000 calls per day. In total, during that hot phase 340,000 group calls were performed, which is a clear indication for the powerful digital TETRA technology as well as for the Frequentis solution. We are honoured to receive this award”, proudly states Walter Degenhart, responsible Part-Project Leader at the Upper Bavarian Police Headquarters.

The ICCA 2016 judges applauded Frequentis for ensuring reliability during record TETRA traffic levels and described the project as: “An amazing example of the scalability, flexibility and usability of the TETRA system in high-profile settings.”

At the end of this project, the entire State will use TETRA communication provided through the Frequentis Unified TETRA Gateway as the main communication medium for high quality audio as well as data services.

Select Country
Afghanistan Åland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo-Brazzaville Cook Islands Costa Rica Côte d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands Faroes Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Honduras Hong Kong SAR of China Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao SAR of China Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island North Korea Northern Marianas Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino São Tomé e Príncipe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Serbia and Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Korea South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The Bahamas Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States of America United States Minor Outlying Islands Uruguay US Virgin Islands Uzbekistan Vanuatu Vatican City Venezuela Vietnam Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe